Fear of pressure, fear of progress: Parents and schools hold kids back from being internationally competitive

I hear this from parents way too often:  I don’t want my children to be pushed too hard in the classroom.  I don’t want them to be upset by their schoolwork.  If I (the parent) have difficulty with the homework it is too hard.  I don’t know why my children need to know more than I did because I did fine.  I don’t want my children to have too much homework because it keeps them from being well-rounded.  And it’s not right to be comparing my children to those from other nations.

In other words:  I want the world to go back to the way it was in 1985.

But it’s not going to.  This is 2013 (at least for a few more days) and our kids are competing – and will continue to compete – with kids from Korea, Finland, Shanghai, Japan and Russia.  And there’s nothing we can do to turn back the clock.

Despite what some commentators – particularly some in the school choice movement – say, parents are not always right.  But convincing parents about the magnitude of the economic challenge facing their children – a challenge most parents did not experience and have trouble understanding – is critical.  And winning those parents over to the importance of a level of educational rigor that most grew up avoiding will be central to the economic futures of their children and our society.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.