Future Physicists of Florida to induct 227 Bay County middle school students on Monday as program resumes a year after Hurricane Michael

The Dr. James T. and Jana L. Cook FSU-Panama City chapter of the Future Physicists of Florida will induct 227 students from Bay District middle schools this coming Monday, November 18.  The ceremony will begin at 6:00 pm at FSU-PC’s Holley Center.

The 227 inductees will be the largest number inducted at a single Future Physicists of Florida ceremony since the program’s inception in 2012. The first Bay County induction ceremony was held at FSU’s Panama City campus in 2015, and induction ceremonies were subsequently held in 2016 and 2017. There was no Bay County ceremony held in 2018 because of the devastation caused by Hurricane Michael.

The Scientific Keynote Speaker for Monday’s ceremony will be Dr. Jorge Piekarewicz, Distinguished Research Professor in the FSU Physics Department and an expert on neutron stars and other exotic phenomena observed in atomic nuclei.

The Future Physicists of Florida chapter at FSU-PC was endowed by Dr. James T. and Jana L. Cook in 2017. Dr. Cook, a cardiologist, will speak to the induction ceremony audience on Monday, along with FSU-PC Dean Randy Hanna, Future Physicists of Florida founder (and FSU Physics Professor) Paul Cottle, and FSU-PC STEM Institute Director Ginger Littleton, who has also been a member of the Bay County School Board since 2006.

The audience at the 2017 Future Physicists of Florida induction ceremony at FSU’s Panama City campus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.