Future Physicists of Florida induction ceremonies at FSU and in Bay and Monroe Counties set for fall

The Future Physicists of Florida induction ceremonies for Fall 2016 are now set.

The second annual Bay County Schools induction ceremony will be held on Tuesday, September 20 at FSU’s Panama City campus.  The scientific keynote speaker will be Jeremiah Murphy, an astrophysicist who is an Assistant Professor in FSU’s Physics Department.

The fifth annual FSU ceremony will be held on Friday, October 7 on the FSU campus.  The day will include a tour of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory.  The scientific keynote speaker for the FSU induction will be Susan Blessing, who is Professor of Physics at FSU, a member of the Physics Department’s high energy physics group and the Director of the Women in Math, Science and Engineering (WIMSE) living-learning center.

The second annual Monroe County Schools ceremony will be hosted on Friday, November 4 by the Marathon Middle High School.  Once again, Professor Murphy will provide the scientific keynote.

The goal of the Future Physicists of Florida program is to encourage middle school students who have demonstrated some mathematical ability (and perhaps even more importantly their parents) to persevere in their high school math and science studies so that they have the option of pursuing college majors in engineering and science.

Scenes from last year’s ceremonies can be seen below.

Inline image 1

View from the stage at last year’s Bay County FPF induction ceremony


Last year’s FSU induction ceremony


Some of last year’s Monroe County inductees

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.