Will you be teaching AP Physics 1 next school year? (Or did you teach your Honors Physics class as AP Physics 1 this year?) If so, shoot me an e-mail to let me know.

Those of you who have been following my blog for years will not be surprised to learn I am up to my neck in AP Physics 1 and 2 stuff.  No, I don’t teach it – I’m a university professor.  But I’m trying to compile as much information as I can about the status of the AP Physics 1 and 2 project.  I am trying to monitor adoption at colleges and universities through my roles at the American Physical Society.  I’m also trying to find out who is teaching AP Physics 1 and 2 in the fall in Florida.  One teacher who has already been in touch with me did as the College Board recommended and turned this year’s Honors Physics classes into AP Physics 1 classes so that her students could take AP Physics 2 next year and both exams (1 and 2) in May of 2015.

The Florida Department of Education has to consider whether AP Physics 1 and 2 should be awarded credit for the two-semester algebra-based physics sequence at the state’s public colleges and universities, and it has not yet done so.  I’ll keep you posted on progress there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.