Future Physicists of Florida inducts 115 students in FSU ceremony

On Friday, the Future Physicists of Florida (FPF) inducted 115 12-, 13- and 14-year-olds during an inaugural ceremony that attracted nearly 400 at Florida State University’s Turnbull Conference Center.

The speakers at the ceremony included FAMU Physics Department and FPF Director Charles Weatherford, FSU College of Arts and Sciences Dean Sam Huckaba, incoming Florida Senate President Don Gaetz, and FSU Physics Professor Harrison Prosper.  The speakers spoke of the challenge of studying physics, the importance of preparing for success in the new technological economy, and the excitement of scientific discovery.

Schools from Tallahassee (Cobb Middle School, Raa Middle School, School of Arts and Science), Jacksonville (River City Science Academy) and Orlando (Orlando Science Schools) participated in the Tallahassee ceremony.

A sixth school, Brown Barge Middle School in Pensacola, participated in a parallel ceremony at the University of West Florida on Friday.

FPF is an organization established to recruit middle school students who demonstrate significant mathematical ability and to encourage them to take courses in high school that best prepare them for college majors in physics and engineering.

FPF is an effort of FSU’s FCR-STEM.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.